News: Winners for 2012 Chapbook Contest

2012 First-Ever CutBank Chapbook Contest

Thanks to all those who submitted to CutBank's inaugural Chapbook Contest. We received an incredible number of submissions and faced a formidable challenge selecting the finalists and winner. We were blown away by the overall quality of this year's contest submissions and anticipate running the contest again next year. It gives us great pleasure to announce that Sean Bernard's short novella, Nuclear, was the winner of this year's contest. Nuclear privies the reader into a heartbreaking tale of love, looming descent, and masterfully crafted narrative spiraling out of control until the earth spins the reality of the narrator's world into a gravity that cannot be contained. Sean will be receiving $1000 and 25 contributor copies.

CutBank will also be publishing runner-up Sandra Doller's innovative memoir Memory of the Prose Machine and second runner-up Kristin Hatch's collection of poetry Through the Hour Glass.

Be on the look out for these chapbooks in the forthcoming months!

Other Finalists include:

Bradley Harrison—Diorama of a People, Burning Eva Heisler—Thick Thin Straight Curved Broken Wavy Kim Henderson—The Kind of Girl Sequoia Nagamatsu—The Silence of the Third Inversion Diana Khoi Nguyen—Object Permanence Bret Shepard—One More Car Horn Cheryl Clark Vermeulen—Thyroid and Other Matters