Welcome to CutBank's online bookstore!

CutBank Print Editions.jpg

Order online, or simply send a check for the total amount and indicate which issue(s) or subscription you would like.

Please mail to:

English Department, LA 133
University of Montana
Missoula, MT 59812

We can no longer ship to international addresses without a SASE to cover international postage.  Sorry for any inconvenience! 






89 cover front PNG.png

CutBank 89

Our Latest Issue, featuring:

Poetry by Taisia Kitaiskaia, John Koethe, Alyssa McCanna, Abigail Pollokoff, and Danielle Shuster

Fiction by Michael Byers, Joanna Eleftheriou, Daniel Paul, and Fortunate Salazar.

Nonfiction by Matthew Gallant, Sam Olson, and Amye Day Ong.

Photography by Will Adams.

Plus, CutBank contest winners Tammy Delatorre, J. Matthew Gottwig, and Freesia McKee.

40 Years of CutBank

Featuring some of the finest writing we've published from CutBank #1 (1973) to #79 (2113).

It's an impressive list of authors, including: Richard Hugo, Rita Dove, Mary Karr, Judy Blunt, Karen Volkman, James Galvin, Mary Ruefle, Patricia Goedicke, Debra Magpie Earling, Henrietta Goodman, Annick Smith, Chris Dombrowski, David Alan Cates, Ed Skoog, Greg Pape, Jane Hirshfield, Jim Harrison, J. Robert Lennon, Kim Barnes, Kim Robert Stafford, Mông-Lan, Richard Hugo, Sandra Alcosser, William Kittredge, and William Stafford, among many, many others.

$25.00 plus $2.00 shipping and handling.

Cover art: "Beach Snack" by David Lusk

Cover art: "Beach Snack" by David Lusk

CutBank 88


Poetry by Kathryn Merwin, Virginia Smith Rice, Andrew Szilvasy, McKenzie Zalopany, and Amie Irwin.

Fiction by Courtney Craggett, Mark Steinwachs, and Henry Goldkamp.

Nonfiction by Joanna Pocock, and Christopher Collins.

Plus, 2017 winner and runners up for the Big Sky, Small Prose Contest: Allie Mariano, Daryl Scroggins, and Kim K. McCrea.

$10.00 plus $2.00 shipping and handling.

CutBank 87

Jillian Merrifield, Ruby Hansen Murray (Winner of the Montana Prize in Nonfiction, judged by Peter Orner), Joseph J. Capista, Stefani Nellen (Winner of the Montana Prize in Fiction, judged by Alexandra Kleeman), Brooke Wonders, Zackary Medlin (Winner of the Patricia Goedicke Prize in Poetry, judged by Bob Hicok), Emily Jace McLaughlin, Jalina Mhyana, Charlie D'Eve, Steven Lang, Bryce Emley, and Abby Minor.

$10.00 plus $2.00 shipping and handling.

CutBank 86

Kyle Ellingson, Rae Winkelstein, Juliana Gray, Roxanne Banks Malia, Alysia Sawchyn, Daryl Scroggins, Derek Updegraff, Rachel Morgan, Alison Ruth, Lacey Rowland, Patrick Kindig, Michael Parker, and an interview with Gregory Pardlo, winner of the 2015 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry.

$10.00 plus $2.00 shipping and handling.

CutBank 85

Felicia Zamora, John English, Elizabeth Sanger, Suzanne Roszak, Sidney Taiko, David Ishaya Osu, Morgan Blalock, Erica Bernheim, Luke Muyskens, Veronica Kuhn, J.R. Toriseva, S.K. Stringer, Christopher Vondracek, Tracy Fuad, Jennifer Murvin, Maxim Loksutoff, Laura Gabel-Hartman, Dan Pinkerton, & Terrance Manning, Jr.

$10.00 plus $2.00 shipping and handling.


CutBank 84

Taylor Gorman, Bo Schwabacher, Victoria McArtor, Matthew Spireng, Geoffrey Woolf, Emily O'Neill, DM Macormic, Danika Stegman, Haesong Kwon, Gene Albamonte, Jane Wong, Natalie Lund, Caleb Tankersley, Melissa Gutierrez, Garrett Biggs, Kimberly Garza, Jesse Goolsby, Gina Warren, Katherine E. Standefer, and Alana de Hinojosa.

$10.00 plus $2.00 shipping and handling.

Yes, we have back issues!

CutBank #6 - #83

Check our inventory for availability and ordering instructions. 


2019-03-03 Greenspan Cover (test).jpg

Don’t Give Up On Alan Greenspan

Soma Mei Sheng Frazier

2018 CutBank Chapbook Contest Winner


2019-03-03 Departure Cover (cropped).png

Another Bright Departure

Joan Naviyuk Kane

2018 CutBank Chapbook Contest


2019-04-18 Williams Cover (cropped).png

What You Have Left Is Me (Pre-Order)

Kat Williams

2018 CutBank Chapbook Contest


Expected Ship Date: June 1st, 2019

Prior Years

Weathermanic FINAL cover-1.jpg


James D'Agostino

2017 CutBank Chapbook Contest Winner


Many Have Fallen FINAL cover-1.jpg

Many Have Fallen 

by Haesong Kwon

Runner-Up, 2017 CutBank Chapbook Contest


NoMarkSpiral FINAL cover-1.jpg

No Mark Spiral 

by Rainie Oet

Runner-Up, 2017 CutBank Chapbook Contest



Little Violences

By Raven Jackson

Winner, 2016 CutBank Chapbook Contest



When the Moon Was
Ours for the Taking

By Wendell Mayo

Runner-up, 2016 CutBank Chapbook Contest



Variation on Testimony

By Lisa Hiton

Runner-up, 2016 CutBank Chapbook Contest



Low Village

By Daniel Riddle Rodriguez

Winner, 2015 CutBank Chapbook Contest



Book of Lake

By Nicholas Gulig

Runner-up, 2015 CutBank Chapbook Contest




by John James
Winner of the 2014 CutBank Chapbook Contest



Candy in Our Brains

by Anne Barngrover & Avni Vyas



What They Took Away

by Dennis James Sweeney
Winner of the 2013 CutBank Chapbook Contest



How I See The Humans

by Gretchen Vanwormer



I Am Trying to Show You My Matchbook Collection

By Andie Francis




by Sean Bernard

Winner of the 2012 CutBank Chapbook Contest



Memory of the Prose Machine

by Sandra Doller



Through the Hour Glass

by Kristin Hatch