Contest Judges Announced

CutBank is thrilled to announce this year's judges for the 2011 Montana Prize in Fiction, the Montana Prize in Creative Nonfiction, and the Patricia Goedicke Prize in Poetry.

* * *

Montana Prize in Fiction Judge - Eileen Myles

Eileen Myles is probably America''s best-known unofficial poet. THE INFERNO/A POET'S NOVEL came out in October 2010, and THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING ICELAND (MIT Press, 2009), is a talkative prose collection in which she describes her travels and explores art criticism. She's published more than 20 volumes of poetry, fiction, articles, plays and libretti including HELL (an opera with composer Michael Webster, 2004), SKIES (2001), ON MY WAY (2001), COOL FOR YOU (a novel, 2000), SCHOOL OF FISH (1997), MAXFIELD PARRISH (1995), NOT ME (1991) and CHELSEA GIRLS (stories, 1994). With Liz Kotz, she edited THE NEW FUCK YOU/ADVENTURES IN LESBIAN READING (Semiotext(e) in 1995. Eileen conducted in 1992 an openly female write-in campaign for President of the United States. In the 80's she was Artistic Director of St. Mark''s Poetry Project. In '97 and again in 2007 Eileen toured with Sister Spit. She is a Professor Emeritus of writing at UCSD. In 2007 she received The Andy Warhol/Creative Capital art writing fellowship.

Montana Prize in Creative Nonfiction Judge - Thalia Field

Thalia Field’s recent book of interrelated story-essays, BIRD LOVERS, BACKYARD, joins her earlier POINT AND LINE, and INCARNATE:STORY MATERIAL from New Directions Press. She also recently released, A PRANK OF GEORGES (with Abigail Lang) from Essay Press, and has written a "performance-novel" ULULU (CLOWN SHRAPNEL), published by Coffee House. Thalia's work has appeared in Tin House, Conjunctions, Ploughshares, Chicago Review, Seneca Review, Angelaki, and other journals. She is included in The Next American Essay, edited by John D'Agata, and considers the essay to be essentially a mode or register at home and in the lineage of any genre. Thalia teaches in the Literary Arts Program at Brown University.


Patricia Goedicke Prize in Poetry Judge - D. A. Powell

D. A. Powellmost recent collections, COCKTAILS (2004) and CHRONIC (2009), were both chosen as finalists for the Publishing Triangle and National Book Critics Circle Awards. In 2010, Powell received the California Book Award, the Kingsley Tufts Prize in Poetry and the Northern California Book Award. A former Briggs-Copeland Lecturer in Poetry at Harvard University, Powell has taught at Columbia University, University of Iowa and New England College. He is currently the McGee Visiting Writer at Davidson College in North Carolina.

* * *

Thank you to our terrific judges! Contests will open for submissions December 1 and remain open through February 15. Winners receive $500 and publication in CutBank 75. Click here for more information. We look forward to reading your work!