Announcing the 2016 Contest Winners

We're thrilled to announce the winners of our 2016 genre contests, the Montana Prizes in Fiction and Creative Nonfiction, and the Patricia Goedicke Prize in poetry. We received so many quality submissions this year. Thanks to everyone for sharing their amazing work, and to our stellar guest judges. On to the winners!

The Montana Prize in Fiction, selected by Claire Vaye Watkins:

"Crick" by Terrance Manning, Jr.

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

Terrance Manning, Jr is a graduate from Purdue’s MFA in Creative Writing. He’s won the Iowa Review Award for Fiction, as well as the Crazyhorse Prize in Nonfiction, and recent work appears in Witness, Ninth Letter, Boulevard, Southwest Review, Hunger Mountain, and other magazines. He lives and writes in Pittsburgh, PA.

The Montana Prize in Creative Nonfiction, selected by Amanda Fortini:

"Meme" by Tracy May Faud

Tracy May Fuad is a poet and essayist of Kurdish descent born and raised in Minnesota. Her writing has appeared in Ninth Letter, BOAAT, Hayden's Ferry Review, DIALOGIST, SOFTBLOW, and Nashville Review, among others. She was in residence at the Vermont Studio Center this spring, and will begin an MFA in Poetry at Rutgers-Newark in the fall. 

The Patricia Goedicke Prize in Poetry, selected by Oliver De La Paz:

J.R. Toriseva

J.R. Toriseva’s work has appeared in, or is forthcoming, from The North American Review, Salt Hill, The Literary Review, The Saranac Review, The Cincinnati Review, Descant, and JACKET, among others, and included in  Days I Moved Through Ordinary Sound from City Lights. Barbed Water, chosen by Shane McCrae, will be published in 2016 as the winner of Saudade's annual poetry contest.

Each winner will receive $500 and be featured in CutBank 85.